How to use a different delimiter other than comma?

How can I choose to output a different delimiter other than a comma? In other words, how do I use a custom delimiter other than the default comma?

For what? The CSV data download

Yes. I need to replace the comma delimiter with say pipes or a custom delimiter in the CSV download.

You can try to make a macro for an advanced Text editor, like Notepad++, to replace the column separators with something different.

If you open your CSV file, you will see that results go within double quotes, separated by a comma.
You can replace the "," sections with, say, "|" as you mentioned.

Are you the developer? If so, can we not introduce such a fundamental option to choose what delimiter to use?

I am not a WebScraper developer, all I do is help people to get better using it, by my own will.

The delimiter choice option was in WebScraper before, but for some reason it was removed. My guess is that majority of people don't really need it.

Although you can actually change the delimiter by yourself, you will have to open devtools_panel.js file that is located within extension directory, find getDataExportCsvBlob function, and modify two lines of code containing join(",") to any other delimiter you prefer, like join("|") or anything else.

1 Like

It's not clear if this would work, because the comma is not reserved in my data, and in fact, no symbol is reserved. That means that unless Webscraper is smart enough to escape or quote everything, you would not be able to selectively replace the delimiters; commas in CSV fields would also be replaced.

Your thoughts?

Can't verify that it really works, but you could try changing the Windows regional setting for Numbers, as shown here:

https://resrequest.helpspot.com/index.php?pg=kb.page&id=279